The national all-BCS-era team

DT: Glenn Dorsey, LSU (2004-07) -- Dorsey had a tremendous senior season during the Tigers' run to the '07 national championship. Dorsey won the Lombardi, Outland and Nagurski trophies, was a unanimous All-American and was named the SEC defensive player of the year. He also was the top overall pick in the following NFL draft.

LB: Luke Kuechly, Boston College (2009-11) -- Kuechly was a tackling machine for the Eagles. After leading the nation in tackles his final two seasons, Kuechly finished second in FBS history with 532 career tackles, despite playing only three years. Kuechly won the Butkus Award as the nation's top linebacker, and also captured the Nagurski and Lombardi trophies.

LB: James Laurinaitis, Ohio State (2005-08) -- Laurinaitis was the cornerstone of the Ohio State linebacking corps his final three seasons in Columbus. He was a three-time consensus All-American, and won the Butkus and Nagurski awards. He was also twice selected as the Big Ten defensive player of the year, and was part of four Big Ten championship teams.

LB: Patrick Willis, Ole Miss (2003-06) -- Willis' only two other scholarship offers out of his Tennessee high school were from Memphis and Arkansas State. He made the rest of the SEC pay for overlooking him, leading the conference in tackles his final two seasons. Willis was also a two-time first-team All-American, the SEC defensive player of the year and a Butkus winner.

CB: Champ Bailey, Georgia (1998) -- Bailey only had one year in the BCS era, but it was a prolific season on defense, offense and special teams. Never coming off the field his final year at Georgia, Bailey totaled three interceptions and 52 tackles and hauled in 47 receptions for 744 yards and five touchdowns while returning kicks and punts. He won the Nagurski and was a consensus All-American.

CB: Patrick Peterson, LSU (2008-10) -- Peterson was college football's most dynamic cornerback/returner since Bailey. On top of ranking in the top 10 nationally in kick and punt returns his junior year, Peterson earned the Bednarik and the Thorpe Award, given to the nation's top defensive back. He also was a unanimous All-American and the SEC defensive player of the year.

S: Roy Williams, Oklahoma (1999-01) -- Williams was a major part of Oklahoma's revival at the turn of the millennium. He was one of the Sooners' best players on the '00 national championship team, before winning the Thorpe and Nagurski awards in '01. That year, he also was the Big 12 defensive player of the year and a unanimous All-American while placing seventh in the Heisman voting.

S: Ed Reed, Miami (1998-01) -- Reed was a consensus All-American in '00 and a unanimous selection in '01 as the leader of Miami's national championship defense. Reed was a finalist for the Thorpe, but lost out to Roy Williams. He also was honored as the Big East defensive player of the year, and set a Miami record with 21 career interceptions.

Special teams

K: Sebastian Janikowski, Florida State (1997-1999) -- Janikowski was the first and only two-time recipient of the Lou Groza Award, given to college football's top kicker. Janikowski left school early and became just the third place-kicker in NFL history to be taken in the first round of the draft.

P: Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech (2010-12) -- Allen became Louisiana Tech's first unanimous All-American. He also was the first and only player to win the Ray Guy Award in back-to-back seasons as the nation's top punter.

  • 1
  • |
  • 2
  • |
  • 3
  • |
  • 4
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...